Homemade Kale Chips (Vegan)

20140718-180647-65207166.jpg

The other day I was in Whole Foods just doing my usual grocery shopping when I passed the kale chips and suddenly I couldn’t think about anything other than popping one of those crunchy pieces of heaven into my mouth. I was absolutely mortified to find out I couldn’t get any for cheaper than about $7, not to mention the containers are tiny. So I thought to myself “am I that lazy to spend a fortune on these when I have a huge bag of fresh kale sitting in the fridge at home” NO. Thus, I hurried home from the store to make one of my all time favorite snacks. Now mind you, everything I learned about making kale chips is from Oh She Glows so she is to credit if you happen to make amazing kale chips like mine. Just look at this perfectly crunchy, not soggy, and seasoned delight
20140718-181226-65546908.jpg

Ingredients:
-Kale, and a lot of it
-About 1 tablespoon of olive oil
-Seasoning of choice (I do sea salt and garlic powder)

Directions:
Pre heat the oven to 350 degrees. Wash and dry the kale but make sure it’s completely dry otherwise it won’t turn out right. Make sure you remove the stems from the middle but try and keep the rest of the leaf in tact since they shrink up in the oven. Toss your kale pieces in a big bowl and put a little olive oil in, just enough to coat every piece but they can’t be dripping. Then, sprinkle with the seasoning of your choice, place on a baking sheet and throw them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a comment