Kale and Sweet Potato Quesadillas

20140710-101947-37187364.jpg

Here we go again with my two favorites, sweet potatoes and Mexican food. I myself used lactose free cheese (Lisanatti Almond Cheese) since I’m so sensitive to dairy. And let me tell you, don’t knock this one til you try it. In the past I haven’t bothered much finding a good lactose free cheese since most vegan cheeses just don’t measure up to the real thing. But my mom picked this up from Whole Foods and I was sold! There’s no way you wouldn’t know this isn’t real cheese and it’s completely fat free and has just a fraction of the calories of real cheese. However, this lactose free beauty does contain milk protein so it can’t be considered vegan. Anyways, back to these cheesy pockets of goodness. I made a side of grilled corn with them and it was the most satisfying summer dinner.

Ingredients:
-1 small sweet potato
-1 large white onion, sliced
-2 cups of kale, chopped
-1/2 cup of black beans, smashed
-1 tbsp of olive oil
-1 tsp of paprika
-Whole wheat tortillas
-Salsa for topping

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425 degrees and pierce the sweet potato with a fork at least 10 times. Place the sweet potato on a foil lined baking sheet and bake for about 40 minutes or until tender. Once the potato has cooled, remove the skin and mash it with a fork until it’s a nice smooth consistency. While the potato is in the oven, heat the olive oil over low heat and cook the onion until it starts to caramelize. Once the onion is almost done, stir in kale until it’s wilted. Combine the mashed black beans and paprika in a small bowl. Scoop out as much filling as you want onto each tortilla, being sure to leave some space on the ends so it doesn’t ooze out. And the beautiful thing about these, you can cook them however you want. I ended up just spraying them with olive oil and putting them in the oven at 375 degrees since the grill was being occupied by the corn but next time I’m going to grill these. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Kale and Sweet Potato Quesadillas

Leave a comment